Skip to content

Ebb and flow

May 11, 2010

The fun part of reading for pleasure is getting to pick what to read next.  Therefore, barring library deadlines or book club selections, I don’t usually plan ahead what I’m going to read next until I finish my current book. If I plan ahead and create any kind of reading agenda, it always starts to feel like school, or some kind of obligation that saps some of the enjoyment out of reading. I like my reading continuum be organic and intuitive, and it often ends up that I go through phases.

I’ve been drawn to lighter fare since finishing As I Lay Dying. I have Tropic of Cancer on the go, but it seems to lend itself more to small bites. I read a humourous non-fiction book about the Eurovision Song Contest and then got into quite a Crime kick, reading half a dozen mysteries and thrillers, none of which are on the 1000 Novels list.dog eats homework

I suppose this is my long-winded way of saying that the dog ate my homework. But I’m not in school anymore so it doesn’t matter and I can read what I like! So there. I could trot out a book I have read previously and hash out a post about it, as I have done the past couple of weeks, but I’m not finding it terribly motivating. We’ll see what next week brings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

