Skip to content

I Don’t Normally Do This

March 2, 2011

I’ve said before that I like to be spontaneous in my reading. One of the rewards of finishing a book is the frisson of excitement when I get to pick the next one. So I surprised myself recently when I went to my bookshelf and selected a whole stack of books to read, and proceeded to determine the order in which to read them.

You see, the 2011 BookCrossing Convention is coming up in April. When I go to a BC convention I like to take books with me that I have received from other BookCrossers, especially ones that have passed through the hands of several people. Some of the books I picked are ones that have been on my shelf for a long time, and their presence has been weighing on me. I’ve felt a measure of guilt that I have had them for years and not got around to reading them.

Guilt’s always a good motivator, but there are also books that I am just really keen to read. There are still others that I want to read, but mostly I want to get them out of the house. That’s not a slight against them, but merely a sign that I know I have too many books.

Here’s what’s in the big stack now piled between my bedside table and the bed (and which is currently the same height as both.) Not all of them are 1000 Novels titles, but many are.

The Spy Who Came in From the Cold
The Sign of Four
Lake Wobegon Days
Black Sunday
Pest Control
Nikolski
Emotionally Weird
The Jade Peony
The Eyre Affair
White Teeth
Beautiful Losers
A Fine Balance
Loving Frank
Atmospheric Disturbances
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
Everything is Illuminated

I’m generally not that good at doing what I am told, even if I am the one doing the telling. So we’ll see how this goes. It could prove to have been nothing more than an exercise in procrastination (I was putting off doing something else when I started pulling the books off the shelf), or I might surprise myself and read them all in order. It will be interesting to see how many I manage to read before the convention starts on April 15th.

March 2, 2011 –137 read

P.S. Happy Birthday to one of my all-time favourite authors, Dr. Seuss.  I think that if I hadn’t read his books as a child I would have ended up a different person. That is, I would be a far less interesting and articulate version of myself.

Leave a Reply

