Skip to content

Life Intervenes

April 10, 2011
BCinDC Convention

The universe has a funny way of mocking me whenever I make plans. As I wrote about in March, I had compiled a rather ambitious list of books I hoped to read before attending the upcoming BookCrossing Convention in DC. Not long after that post I followed up with one of my freelance clients on the status of a project that we’d discussed earlier in the year but was on hold. He responded with an unexpected offer to work for them full-time. So, to make a long story short, virtually overnight I have gone from being self-employed to having a full-time job. To crank the  irony dial to 11, the moment I accepted the job I suddenly had a surge in demand for my freelance services. Silly universe.

Needless to say, I’ve had a lot on my mind and my reading list hasn’t been a top priority.Nevertheless I’ve still plowed through a few of the titles on the list.  I read Black Sunday, Pest Control, Nikolski, Emotionally Weird, and I have just started The Eyre Affair. I started Lake Woebegon Days early on, but it got left in a handbag I seldom use and I haven’t come back to it yet. It was also threatening to fall apart at the spine as I was reading it, which is a bit of a deterrent.

We leave for the BCinDC convention on Thursday morning, and I am so looking forward to it.  I haven’t been to a BC convention since London in 2008 and it will be marvellous to see so many old friends again.  What will it mean for the books I picked out but didn’t get around to reading?  I suppose it means I’d better start saving my pennies so that I can take them to Dublin next year. Oh yes, and also get reading.

Leave a Reply

