Skip to content

We interrupt the regularly scheduled reading…

June 19, 2011

hatsI haven’t read much in the past couple of months. Actually, that’s incorrect.  I haven’t read many books in the past couple of months.  Now that I have a full-time gig that involves writing all day, every day, I’ve been finding that my eyes and my brain aren’t that interested in processing more words when I get home.

In my old job I wore many hats, so writing was interspersed with lots of other activities.  From there I went on to be self-employed, and anyone who’s ever run their own business will tell you that you don’t just wear a lot of hats, you wear ALL the hats, so I was accustomed to being not just a writer, but also the Finance department, the IT department, the Collections department (sigh) and so forth.  In my new role I have people who look after everything else, and so all I do is write and edit all day long.  In many respects it is blissful.  It is so refreshing to really focus on doing one thing extremely well. My inner perfectionist is loving it. My eyes, not so much. At least for the first while I have felt very tired and drained at the end of each day. Spent is a good way to describe it. I would come home, veg in front of the TV for a couple of hours and go to bed, having put everything I had into the day’s writing, and taking on board all of the information necessary for the new job.

Thankfully I seem to have settled in now and my energy is returning. I know a lot more about the business now, and I feel more at ease on the job. I’ve started working from home two days of the week, which cuts the exhausting commute down to size. Things are looking up again for recreational reading. I read The Sign of Four last weekend, and recently finished The Eyre Affair (having thought it was on the list. It isn’t, but I’m not bothered about it because it was a fun read.) I’m optimistic that I’ll pick up the pace of novel-reading again very soon.  Nevertheless, at the moment I’m reading several books on Search Engine Optimization in the hope that one day soon I will be able to sustain a conversation with my tech-savvy colleagues without any blank stares on my part.

My eyes can’t be that tired.  I just sat here and wrote this blog post, after all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 14:44

    Hi, just wanted to let you know I’ve added your entry to the literary blog directory: http://tinylibrary.blogspot.com/p/literary-blog-directory.html
    Hope you find some great blogs through it and also get some new readers. There’s a button on my blog for you to use.

  2. July 8, 2011 20:31

    Great project!! Good luck on the list, Stephanie. I’ll be following. 🙂

    • July 8, 2011 22:52

      Thanks! It’s been fun so far. It’s great to have you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

